A question about balance

Feeling zen?

5HJb48II have noticed that often in fantasy it seems as time has stood still. People do not use cellphones, there is no internet connection and cars or helicopter do not fit in the background.
So is this done deliberate or do people forget the busy lifestyle we all know all to well?
Until now, I have not used modern life in my work.  Maybe it makes it more easier to forget about day to day life and live in the different world that I created.  But I have been thinking how to incorporate more of modern life in my story.  More of reality as we know it.  But how do I not forget to use a cellphone, make a senseo-coffee, swipe, tag or cast?  Things I do so easily and often on a day to day basis, without making it to repetitive?

How do you handle the balance between fantasy and reality?

