A play of writing?

I’m a person who has a lot of problems reading, writing or learning things, when I can not see it being used.  What I mean is, that for me to process new stuff, I need to be able to put the theory into practice with examples.

What does this have to do with writing you might ask.  Everything to me. If I write a love scene and I want to know where one might hold another, I will ask my loving boyfriend to hold me, and I will pay attention.  If I need an action scene, and I am wondering how one would use a weapon, I will rummage trough my son’s toys, and find myself something to give it a go.

I do the same with some of my dialogues, it helps me write more realistic conversations, though I do realize I still need a lot of practice.

If others could see me, or knew what I was doing, I might look like a bit foolish.  However, it is important to me that I see things happen.  I can place myself in other situations, but I just have no experience with some, and might need more in others.

If one of my chars is having an injury I might act it out, to see how hard it is in real life.

Do you go waving a toy sword, or rub your lover’s back, for a more lively story?  What is probably the weirdest thing you have ever done, to be able to write?

