The Dropkin Clan (Excerpt)

The world has changed after the melting of the icecaps.  Most of our land has gotten lost in  the deep of the water.  People have found different ways to live, as the grains of dry sand are threatened with extinction.
Some have been lucky and survived on the last islands of earth, others took measures and made home at sea.  The ones most prepared, decided to take flight.
The large Sky Domes are a wondrous sight.  Soon however they become a horror for many children, as they are sold in exchange for medicine,  or technology.   Parents sell their children, thinking they get an education at Sky Dome Academy.   Merchants resell orphans, and there are even thieves that steal babies and small children in hopes of making their fortune.  Truth is no one knows what actually happens at the education centre, because no one returns, and no news is exchanged between the people from the sky and the people from the surface.

I have been on this island for fifteen years, and last week I was asked if I wanted to escape.

I was sold by my mother.  Well, truth be told, she wanted to sell my youngest brother, but I intervened.  Knowing what I know now, having these experiences, although horrible, I would do it again in a heartbeat, just to save Eduard.

I wonder how they are doing, my brothers.

