Blood Warrior by H.D. Gordon

Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga, #1)Blood Warrior by H.D. Gordon

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I decided to read the book after picking up the second one. It looked like it was interesting. I decided to start at book one of the series, cause that’s how it usually goes.

Sigh,…
I feel torn about this book.
Although I generally like the story, there is a lot that just doesn’t seem to fit and that just doesn’t bring it to live. (for me)

First of all, the Cover isn’t my thing. But I tend not to rate a book on it’s cover so I started reading. And after about forty pages, I was honestly ready to give up.
I didn’t because I hate giving up.

I have no idea why the author has made so many chapters. The book has seventy-one chapters and I don’t comprehend why. It doesn’t make it better, might not make it worse, but I just kept asking myself why. If a new point of view was presented, I would have understood. But now,…. I just don’t understand. I even went back to count the pages looking for some clever code in it. But if it’s there, I couldn’t find it.

Then there are the characters. To me they are unrealistic. Don’t get me wrong, they are interesting, but the emotions are going everywhere and I feel they lack, a lot of depth. A reason to be.

What I did like.
The oneliners. The Main character has a funny habit to say, or think things that do stick and are funny. I like that part of her a lot. And the sister of the main character is nice as well. The interaction between the two is good and I believe their relationship is (although kinda weird) pretty well brought.

In the end, the book didn’t really do it for me. However, I am trying to figure out if I should try the second one. Because that was the one that spiked my interest in the first place. I might not do it right away, but who knows,…

View all my reviews

